In Senza categoria

Who we are

Ara Pacis Initiative

Created by Maria Nicoletta Gaida, the Ara Pacis Initiative (API) was inaugurated by the City of Rome under the High Patronage of the President of the Republic of Italy as well as the auspices of the Office of the Prime Minister of Italy and the Italian Ministry of Foreign Affairs. 

The Ara Pacis Initiative is a global non-profit organization dedicated to the human dimension of peace. It places the human being – with his/her needs, rights, duties, moral resources, creativity, spirituality, aspirations, dignity and capacity to create new beginnings – at the center of conflict prevention, resolution and transformation, assisting governments, institutions and communities in bringing divided peoples into restored, more just human relationships.

API is a non partisan and non confessional entity. It diplomatically interprets this position into positive, active and engaged neutralism. API combines religious sensitivity, intellectual and academic thinking, and on-the-ground skills and experience in order to translate theory into practice in addressing the human dimension of peace. It counts on its Council for Dignity, Forgiveness, Justice and Reconciliation, a global network of over 100 peacemakers from different conflicts and backgrounds, primarily men and women who have suffered personal and collective tragedy yet have made empathy and understanding the starting point of a new existence, in order to disseminate and create new projects aimed at advancing a culture of dignity and reconciliation.

A non-profit organization, the Ara Pacis Initiative was founded by:

  • Maria Nicoletta Gaida Founder and President of the Ara Pacis Initiative
  • Anas Altikriti representing The Cordoba Foundation
  • Ali Abu Awwad representing Al-Tariq-the Palestinian Institution for Development and Democracy
  • Alexandra Asseily Governor and Founder of the Center for Lebanese Studies at Oxford; Board Member of Guerrand-Hermès Foundation for Peace
  • Stefano Amore representing the Young Magistrates of Italy
  • Barakat Fawzi Hassan representing Al-Quds Educational TV, Al-Quds University
  • Robi Damelin representing Parents Circle/Forum of Israeli and Palestinian Families
  • Ron Fremder representing the We Do Care Association
  • Anne Gallagher representing Seeds of Hope-Northern Ireland
  • Leymah Roberta Gbowee representing the Women Peace and Security Network of Africa
  • Pumla Gobodo-Madikizela Professor of Psychology at the University of Cape Town and former member of the Truth and Reconciliation Commission of South Africa
  • Asha Hagi Elmi representing the Save Somali Women and Children association
  • Megan Hallahan Secretary General of the Ara Pacis Initiative
  • Le Ly Hayslip representing the Global Village Foundation, Vietnam
  • Donna Hicks Associate, Weatherhead Center for International Affairs at Harvard University
  • Thavory Huot representing the Khmer Ahimsa Organization of Cambodia
  • Monica Jimenez de la Jara former Minister of Education of the Republic of Chile
  • Elias Khoury Attorney-at-law and dialogue advocate, Jerusalem
  • Solomon Lerner Febres representing the Institute of Democracy and Human Rights, Pontifical Catholic University of Peru
  • Alberto Melloni UNESCO Chair for Religious Pluralism and Peace; Director of the John XXIII Foundation for Religious Studies
  • Joseph Montville Board Chair of the Center for World Religions, Diplomacy and Conflict Resolution of the Institute of Conflict Analysis and Resolution at George Mason University; Distinguished Diplomat in Residence, American University
  • Leonel Narváez Imc Director of the Foundation for Reconciliation, Colombia
  • Donald W. Shriver, Jr. President Emeritus of Union Theological Seminary
  • Peggy Shriver former Assistant General Secretary of the National Council of Churches of Christ-U.S.A.
  • Vamik D. Volkan President of the American College of Psychoanalysts; Professor Emeritus of Psychiatry, University of Virginia.

Download the organization’s Statute

Leave a Reply

Send Us Message


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>